Jessie Heekin
My no BS business Web writing blog

My Freelance Writing Journey Thus Far

Ahh, the freelance writing journey. These past two years have been wow-mazing. By this, I mean that I have hit every end of the spectrum. The colossal success and equally colossal…setback. No failures.

I have managed to try out everything I desired thanks to my gloriously compassionate and genuinely supportive husband. I have learned that I want to write about everything.

Except not really. I feel like I had been searching hard for niches because I needed the liveliness of the fiction I thought I needed to write, the relevance of the finance writing, the personable nature of the lifestyle writing, the helping-people-with-their-dreams feel of real estate writing.

However, I am primarily a business writer. A small business writer. My love is for the small business with, eh…balls? Yes, balls. I mean, why not be totally honest. In my freelance writing journey I have found that I want the small client that is always thinking big.

I am reminded of so many of the writers I admire and their niche passions and the ferocity of their writing. It tells me that I need to carve out this love I have for small business. I think that I want to write mostly how-to and authority content. We’ll see as I further progress in my journey.

What I have found is that I am thinking about my writing business, my career, as one of the charts I see in Money Magazine all the time that relates your age to your current investments’ risk.

So, now, my question is, how will I mix my upfront and passive income? The income of ghostwriting versus what I will see upfront?

For now, I am about to start my bachelor’s degree in internet marketing at Full Sail University. I completed my FAFSA and somehow I am actually going to get some dough. Really! I know that the web field is for me. Now, with so many writers that I consider my mentors, I have to mention Yolander Prinzel. Sheer genius, this chick. What an enigmatic personality! Who wouldn’t hire a writer like her? Anyhow, at a prior blog, she described the components of her 2009 business plan and it made more since to me the way she worded it. I need to mix that and the business plan advice of Jenn Mattern in her Web Writer’s Guide to get to it.

So where am I in my freelance writing journey? Just taking another step toward my success!

Blogged with the Flock Browser

No Responses to “My Freelance Writing Journey Thus Far”

Leave a comment